Iowa Sports Foundation
  • Iowa Games
  • Live Healthy Iowa
  • Adaptive Sports Iowa
  • Iowa Senior Games
  • Des Moines Corporate Games

Our Vision

To be the statewide leader in providing opportunities for all Iowans to live a healthier lifestyle by motivating, encouraging and supporting lifelong wellbeing through sports, recreation, and competition.

Our Mission

The Iowa Sports Foundation (ISF) mission is to provide sports, recreation, health and wellness opportunities for Iowans of all abilities.

What is the Iowa Sports Foundation?

The ISF is comprised of the Iowa Games, Live Healthy Iowa, Adaptive Sports Iowa, Iowa Senior Games and the Iowa Corporate Games.

Our board of directors is made up of former governors and athletic and corporate leaders from around the state. Corporate sponsorships, donations, grants and entry fees provide the major source of funding for the ISF. The ISF does not rely on any state or federal funding.

Board of Directors


Julie Middleswart, Chair, Ernst & Young
Michael Bousselot, President, Faegre Drinker
Chris Verlengia, Vice President, Wellmark
Lynn Walz, Treasurer, retired
Mac O’Brien, Secretary, Nyemaster Goode Law Firm
Jess Vilsack, Past Chair, Summit Carbon Solutions


Taylor Anderson, Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union
Barb Baker, Grinnell Mutual
Blake Boldon, Drake Relays Director
Kevin Bourke, Discover Ames
Rob Bradley, Pella Corporation
Lydia Caraveo, Grinnell Mutual
Tony Dickinson, NCMIC
Vicky Foresman, YMCA of Greater Des Moines
Beth Goetz, University of Iowa
Tim Grabinski, MidAmerican Energy
Norman Granger, State of Iowa/Board of Parole
Brian Hardin, Drake University
Dave Harris, University of Northern Iowa
John Hartung, Retired
Steve Jordison, Iowa Park and Recreation Association
Tom Keating, Iowa High School Athletic Association
Jackie Kleppe, University of Iowa Health Care
Dave Lubbers, David Marr Productions
Jamie Pollard, Iowa State University
Steve Purcell, Mediacom
Patrick Tomka, Office of the Governor
Jenny Wood, Iowa Soccer Association
Lydia Zerby, Iowa Food & Family Project